Rebuild | Reburn (Australian Electronic Music Duo)

Rebuild | Reburn

Rebuild | Reburn, also spelled reburn or reburn, is the third album by Australian electronic music duo The Avalanches, released on 28 October 2012. It was the first album to be released with the band’s new name, following the departure of bassist Adrian Lux, and after the departure of drummer Josh Goggin in June 2012.

The album consists solely of re-recorded versions of material from their previous releases, Love is an Illusion and V.I.P., including all-new material. The duo’s previous albums were released with minor remixes and guest appearances from other artists. This time around, the album features the original versions of all of the tracks on the band’s previous releases, along with numerous remixes and additional instrumentation.

Release and promotion The album was released as double CD (with the standard CD version in the jewel case, and the double vinyl edition as a digipack), and was sent to radio stations on 24 September 2012 through radio stations in Australia by Australian independent label The End Records on a promotional tour. The album was released as a digital download on iTunes in Australia on 25 October and in the United Kingdom on 26 October 2012.

The song “Dance (Shake It)” was released as a single in Australia through radio on 11 November 2012. However, as of June 2013, “Dance (Shake It)” has never been released on a single.


The album received generally positive reviews in Australia. In an article by the Herald Sun on 23 October 2012, Chris Johnson observed that “it would have made more sense to release this record earlier, before you all grew tired of re-recordings of songs that have been done to death. We’ll probably never get the same reaction that The Avalanches get with their other albums, but we can at least hope they won’t give up on the songs we all love”.

Track listing

Disc one: Love is an Illusion “

Leave a Comment